Spotlight 2008-2009

» Congratulations to our Superintendent, Mrs. Sue Reed, for receiving a score of 51 out of a possible 52 points on the State-Department required evaluation. The evaluation measures leadership and management skills and was conducted by Dr. Neil Hyche of Hartselle.

» Congratulations to Meek Elementary School for being named one of the top ten elementary schools in the state. Read the complete story here.

» Congratulations to Sarah Boyd of Addison High School for winning the Design Our Tourism Logo Contest. Her logo design will be used by the Winston County Tourism Bureau.

» Congratulations to Hunter McSpadden of Double Springs Elementary School! Hunter received first place in the Alabama Federation of Women's Clubs Youth Poetry Contest in April 2009.

» Congratulations to the DSMS/WCHS Jr Beta Organization. Jr. Beta had five students to place at state: Double Springs Middle Bella Martinez, 1st place speech, WCHS Elijah Posey 2nd place speech, Heaven Garner 3rd place poetry, Rachel Roberson 1st place cross-stitch, Hannah Brewer 1st place embroidery. All of these will compete at nationals in June.

» Congratulations to Autumn Baughn, a sixth grade student in Mrs. Denise Cagle's Lynn Elementary class. Autumn won the Listerhill Credit Union T-Shirt Design Competition. Autumn will receive a cash prize and a free movie ticket.

» Congratulations to the Lynn Bears' County Tournament Clean Sweep in Varsity Baseball and Softball, and the Jr. Varsity Baseball and Softball.

» Meek FCCLA members won gold medals at the State STAR Event Competition. The overall gold medalists are now qualified for competing at the national level in Nashville, TN.
Juniors: Katie Mauldin & Amber Peek, Life Event Planning, Sr.-gold overall
Freshmen: Anna Mauldin & Emily Brooks, Focus on Children, Jr.-gold
8th graders: Chaselyn Langley & Kristina Hood, Life Event Planning, Jr.-gold overall
Their FACS Teacher and FCCLA sponsor is MaLea Ergle

» 2009 Scholars Bowl results

» Congratulations to Mr. Keith Hood's DSES class for receiving awards from the 2008 Double Springs Study Club Writers' Contest for the K-3 division.

Poetry Winners: Sheldone-2nd; Hunter-1st; Haley-3rd; Chandler-4th; and Sam-5th; also shown is Joyce Martin from the Study Club and Mr. Hood

Short Story Winners: Mariah-1st; Maranda-2nd; Alyssa-3rd; Michael-4th; and Blakley-5th

» Congratulations to the 2009 Torch Winners from WCHS - Results:
Academic Competitions WCHS Placed in 14 of 45 places awarded
Algebra-2nd Brittany Hart, 3rd Candace Cole
American History-1st Sean Ingram, 3rd Harris McKinney
Art-2nd Paul Dyer
Business-3rd Amber Wade
Chemistry-2nd Nic Bell
English Grammar-2nd Leah Mayhall
English Literature-3rd Jon Gunter
Geometry-2nd Jessica Bloom
Government & Economics-2nd Jacob Terry
Physics- 1st Lacie Greene, 2nd Amanda Robinson, 3rd Ashley Neeley

Career Technical Competition Results:
Business Office Management-2nd Hollie Chambless
Dramatic Monologue/Public Speaking-1st Meg Posey
Solo Keyboard-1st David Johnson
Solo Percussion-1st Robert Bryant
Solo Strings-2nd Tyler Cagle
Vocal Solo-3rd Meghan Garrison

» Congratulations to Candace Cole of Winston County High School. Candace was chosen as the Alabama 33/40 America's First "First Class" Student of the Week for the week of March 9th.

» Congratulations to Kryssi Daniel of Winston County High School who was chosen for to the National Prep Volleyball Frosh 59. Kryssi was Alabama's only entry on this list.

» Congratulations to the Winston County High School Band who received all ones at district competition.

» Congratulations to the following Meek High School Students:
Taylor Stewart for being selected to attend the HOBY Leadership Conference at Troy University in May 2009.
Sean Hiller for being selected to attend the Cullman Electric Cooperative Youth Leadership Tour in Montgomery in March 2009.
Katie Bryant for being nominated to attend the Capstone Leadership Academy at the University of Alabama in April 2009.
Amber Peek for being selected for a second year to be an ambassador for the Alabama Students Against Tobacco program at the Alabama Youth Sports Festival in June.

» Congratulations to the following "Band of Champions" students for making All-State.
Red Band - Alisha Barber & Sarah Tingle
White Band - Paige Watkins & Jonathon Farley
Blue Band - Audrey Yocom
Jr. High - Alex Gibson, Kristina Hood & Carol-Lynn Owens

Congratulations to the following students for making District III Honor Band.
Alisha Barber, Sarah Tingle, Paige Watkins, Jonathon Farley, Audrey Yocom, Alex Gibson, Kristina Hood, Carol-Lynn Owens, Taylor Wilson, Ashley Waid, Michael Rickett and Chaselyn Langley

» Congratulations to Meek High School Freshman, Danielle Gibson, on winning 2nd place in the Alabama State Jr. High Beef Cook-off. The competition was held on Saturday, Jan. 10th in Montgomery, Alabama. Her FCCLA sponsor is MaLea Ergle.

» Congratulations to Addison High School and Meek High School who both were placed in the Bronze Category of Best High Schools 2009 on the U.S. News & World Report. This is the second year for Meek High School.
Best High Schools 2009
U.S. News & World Report—in collaboration with School Evaluation Services analyzed academic and enrollment data from more than 21,000 public high schools to find the very best across the country. These top schools were placed into gold, silver, bronze, or honorable mention categories.

» Congratulations to the Addison Senior Toybowl Football Team and Cheerleaders for an outstanding undefeated season and being crowned the 2008 NCATA Champions!

» Congratulations to the Class 2A All State Volleyball Tourney Team members Kali Lake of Addison, Sadie Beam of Addison, and Kryssi Daniels of Winston County.

» Congratulations to Rhonda West, librarian of Double Springs Elementary School. Mrs. West was awarded the Herman Moore Lamp 2008 Award of Exceptional Service.
This award is given at the Alabama Library Expo in September for outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to Alabama libraries over an extended period of time.