AHSAA 2015 Volleyball Championships

Meek High School Volleyball First-Ever 1A Championship!
Congratulations MHS and coaches Tara Branstetter & Dana Waldrop!

Congratulations to the Addison Volleyball team on winning the 2015 2A state championship. 3peat! This is Addison's eighth volleyball state title.
Way to go Lady Dogs and first-year coach, Kayla Woodard!


Scholar's Bowl April 2015

Congratulations to all Winston County Scholar's Bowl teams!
Results & photos... Varsity Teams
Results & photos... Jr. High Teams
Results & photos... Elementary Teams



Winston County Technical Center Accomplishments


SkillsUSA State Competition
2015 State Champion
Electronics Technology Kyle Wallace (WCHS)

Pin Design Winner Sarah Chambless (WCHS)
Pin Design Winner Brody Sutherland (WCHS)
2nd Place Pharmacology Anna Shipman (WCHS)

1st place Food Marketing Samantha Sutherland (WCHS)
2nd place Human Resources Halla Jacobs ( WCHS)
1st place Food Marketing Caitlin McCrary (WCHS)
Vice President of District 1 Caitlin McCrary (WCHS)

SkillsUSA District Competition

2nd Place - Electronics - Kyle Wallace (WCHS)
4th Place - Electronics - Paul Beaty (MHS)

1st Place - Welding John Hood (WCHS)
4th Place - Welding Ty Griffith (MHS)

FORD AAA Competition

3rd Place Ford AAA Bobby Gilliland (AHS)
3rd Place Ford AAA Ethan Jones (WCHS)

Northwest Shoals Community College Career Technical Scholarship
Students will receive and $850 per semester renewable scholarship and must pursue an education in a career tech field.

Tori Mertens (AHS)
Jesse Pendley (LHS)
Jeremy Grace (MHS)
Shae Moore (WCHS
Rhett Miller (WCHS)
Samantha Sutherland (WCHS)

Wallace State Community College Technical Scholarship

Raye Anne Phillips (LHS)
Maria Sifuentes (AHS)
Torch at Jasper /Sumiton
Automotive Technology
1st - Matt Taylor (WCHS)

1st - Jeremy Grace (MHS)
3rd - Jennifer Lowery (WCHS)

Business Office Management
2nd - Lacie Freeman (WCHS)

Electrical System Technology
2nd - Kyle Wallace (WCHS)

Welding Technology
1st - Scott Irving (MHS)
2nd - Dexter Woodard (MHS)

Torch at Fayette
Electrical Systems
1st - Dallas Taylor (LHS)

Health Service
1st - Aubery Tidwell (MHS)

Welding Technology
3rd - Cody Campbell ( MHS)

Torch at Hamilton
3rd - Makayla Webster (WCHS)

1st - Jordan Bell (WCHS)
2nd - Courtney Manasco (WCHS)

Electrical System Technology
3rd Erica Nelson (WCHS)

Health Occupations
1st Anna Shipment (WCHS)

Welding Technology
3rd Allen Lawson (MHS)
Winston County Technical Center Contest Winners (PHOTOS)

Men's Hair Design
1st Place - Heath Hood (WCHS)
2nd Place - Hannah Tidwell (AHS)
3rd Place - Tori Mertens (AHS)

Women's Hair Design
1st Place - Jordan Bell (WCHS)
2nd Place - Makayla Webster (WCHS)
3rd Place - Courtney Rogers (WCHS)

1st Place - (tie) David Weaver
1st Place - (tie) Madison Williams
2nd Place - (tie) Lauren Dyer
2nd Place - (tie) Samantha Sutherland

1st place - Austin Terry (LHS)
2nd place - Gabe Crane (LHS)
3rd place - Landon Hatcher (MHS)

1st place - Jon Hood (WCHS)
2nd place - Rhett Miller (WCHS)
3rd Allen Lawson - (MHS)

Health Science
1st Place - Aubery Tidwell (MHS)
2nd Place - Markeia Fell (WCHS)
3rd Place - Anna Shipman (WCHS)


Way to go Winston County Juniors!

Winston County, Meek, and Lynn High Schools had 100% attendance and participation in the ACT plus Writing test administration on Tuesday, April 28th. This is fantastic!

Way to go Double Springs Elementary!

Double Springs Elementary School's 3rd and 4th grade had 100% attendance on April 15 and April 16, 2015 during ACT Aspire Testing! The PTO rewarded them with a pizza party. 
See photos..





»  2011-2014 Spotlight

»  2009-2010 Spotlight

»  2008-2009 Spotlight

»  2007-2008 Spotlight